New Zealand

If you are not a New Zealander, welcome to New Zealand!

New Zealand is an island country located in south-west Pacific Ocean. It consists of two main island (North Island and South Island) and of a number of smaller islets including Stewart Island and Chatham Island. The archipelago of New Zealand is the Oceania’s farthest land to the south, to the south east of Australia.

European discovery of New Zealand happened thanks to Dutch sailor Abel Tasman. Name “New Zealand” emerged 23 years later in a Dutch map from 1665. It comes from a Dutch province of Zeeland.